Skip to main content

PFA Scotland welcomed partners, sponsors, members and guests for a memorable evening at Hilton Glasgow to celebrate the Player of the Year Awards for the 2023/24 season.

Highlighting the electrifying performances on the pitch to outstanding achievements from the sidelines, the awards showcase the very best of our game and we were delighted to be joined by so many familiar faces.

A big thanks go to our event sponsors, who helped us deliver a successful event that celebrated success from every level of the professional game in Scotland. Our event partners include but are not limited to; Hilton Glasgow, Arnold Clark, Stagecoach Bus, Persimmon Homes, Best HR, Advanta Wealth Ltd, All Sport Insurance Services Limited, Molton Brown and Sky Sports.

With a pulsating title race in the Scottish Premiership and SWPL1 to historic seasons in League 1 and League 2, as well as the Scottish Championship being at its competitive best, there has been plenty to celebrate this campaign.

Hearts’ Lawrence Shankland picked up Premiership Player of the Year after an outstanding season for the Jambos. The Scotland international has scored 28 goals across all competitions and is the division’s top scorer. Shankland was voted by his peers as the league’s best player and was delighted with the award:

“Not many players, especially outside the Old Firm, can say they have picked up this award. It’s a great honour and a really proud moment.”

Rachel Rowe and Mia McAulay, both of Rangers, were awarded SWPL1 Player and Young Player of the Year after impressive season’s with Jo Potter’s side. Potter, herself, was named SWPL1 Manager of the Year after making a big impression since joining the Gers in 2023. Rabbi Matondo was awarded Sky Sports Goal of the season for his late strike against Celtic in April.

The evergreen Brian Graham was voted by his fellow professionals as Championship Player of the Year, finishing the season as top scorer in the league with 20 goals for Partick Thistle. Callumn Morrison was also top of the scoring charts for the Invincibles, Falkirk, in 23/24 and was named League 1 Player of the Year.

Stenhousemuir lifted their first league title in 140 years and their captain Gregor Buchanan was awarded with League 2 Player of the Year. Buchanan highlighted how the award capped off a dream year in his maiden campaign with the Warriors:

“It’s a pretty overwhelming moment for me and I’m very thankful. Not many players at my stage of my career, especially as a centre back, will manage to get these awards, so it means a lot.”

Falkirk’s John McGlynn was named Manager of the Year, in conjunction with the Scottish Managers and Coaches Association, after an incredible weekend for the Bairns. A late Brad Spencer penalty meant that Falkirk finished the campaign unbeaten in League 1 and become only the 7th Scottish side ever to claim the Invincibles tag.

Lastly, Graeme Souness was our Special Merit award winner, recognising an outstanding career for a legend of Scottish football.

Congratulations to all of our award winners after another memorable season across the professional game. We would like to thank all of our members for their support and we look forward to connecting again soon.


Leave a Reply