PFA Scotland is delighted to announce the nominees for this season’s Championship, League 1 and League 2 Player of the Year Awards 2019.

Players at every club across the country have had their say and this year’s nominees in the Championship, League 1 and League 2 are as follows:

Championship Player of the Year
Stephen Dobbie (Queen of the South)
Bill McKay (Ross County)
Pavol Sanfranko (Dundee United)
Lawrence Shankland (Ayr United)

League 1 Player of the Year
Dale Hilson (Forfar Athletic)
Bobby Linn (Arbroath)
Kevin Nisbet (Raith Rovers)
Dom Thomas (Dumbarton)

League 2 Player of the Year
David Goodwillie (Clyde
Blair Henderson (Edinburgh City)
Chris Johnston (Annan Athletic)
John Rankin (Clyde)

It is a hat-trick of Championship Player of the Year nominations for prolific Queen of the South hitman Stephen Dobbie – will it be third time lucky? He is joined on this year’s list by three fellow frontmen in the form of Ayr United’s Lawrence Shankland – last season’s League 1 Player of the Year – Dundee United’s Pavol Sanfranko and Ross County hitman Billy McKay.

In League 1, Raith Rovers top striker Kevin Nisbet finds himself nominated along with title winning Arbroath talisman Bobby Linn, Forfar’s Dale Hilson and Dumbarton’s Dom Thomas, who has impressed for the Sons during his loan spell from Kilmarnock.

Edinburgh City striker Blair Henderson – the favourite to lift this seasons’ Tartan Boot Award for his 30 league goals so far (38 overall for the season) – is in line for the League 2 Award along with Clyde duo David Goodwillie and John Rankin as well as Annan’s Chris Johnston.

The overall winners will be announced on Sunday 5th May at PFA Scotland’s annual Awards Dinner at the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow.

Leave a Reply