Go to content
You are in:
  1. Home
  2. PFA News
  3. PFA Scotland Player & Young Player of the Year 2018 Nominees

PFA Scotland Player & Young Player of the Year 2018 Nominees

Last updated: 5.08pm, Wednesday 25th April 2018 by

PFA Scotland is delighted to announce the nominees for this season’s Player and Young Player of the Year Awards.

Players at every club across the country have had their say and this year’s nominees for the Player and Player of the Year are as follows:

Premiership Player of the Year
Kris Boyd Kilmarnock
Scott Brown Celtic
James Forrest Celtic
John McGinn Hibernian

Young Player of the Year
Scott McKenna Aberdeen
Alfredo Morelos Rangers
Lewis Morgan St Mirren
Kieran Tierney Celtic

Premiership champions-in-waiting Celtic are represented in both Player and Young Player of the Year categories.

Captain Scott Brown and winger James Forrest are up against each other for PFA Scotland Player of the Year.

Should Brown win it, he will become the second player ever to lift the Award twice. The only other player to have done so is former Celtic Legend Henrik Larsson (1999 & 2001).

Also in the running with Brown and Forrest for the prestigious Award are prolific Kilmarnock hitman Kris Boyd who has proved that age is no barrier to success, and Hibernian midfield ace John McGinn – last season’s Championship Player of the Year winner.

In the season when Celtic can complete a double-treble, full back Kieran Tierney can complete a special treble of his own if he lifts this year’s Young Player of the Year Award - having won the last two back-to-back.

Up against Tierney this year are his soon-to-be Celtic teammate Lewis Morgan, who is also in the running for Championship Player of the Year having had an outstanding season with title winning St Mirren.

Also nominated in the Young Player category are Rangers forward Alfredo Morelos and Aberdeen defender Scott McKenna, whose rise to prominence this season saw him earn a deserved place in the Scotland National team.

The overall winners will be announced on Sunday 29th April at PFA Scotland’s annual Awards Dinner at the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow.


PFA News index

Business Partners