Go to content
You are in:
  1. Home
  2. PFA News
  3. PFA Awards: A Night of Legends

PFA Awards: A Night of Legends

Last updated: 11.19am, Tuesday 15th May 2018 by

The Legends stole the show at Sunday night's PFA Scotland Awards Dinner.

An array of winners from across the years attended the ceremony at the Hilton Hotel to commemorate the 40th Anniversary of the Awards.

From Paul Hegarty, Jim Duffy, Theo Snelders and Sandy Clark all the way up to the likes of Barry Ferguson and Michael Higdon, Paul Elliott and Kris Commons graced the stage to take a bow for their amazing achievements over the years.

The arrival of 2005 joint winners John Hartson and Fernando Ricksen was met with a standing ovation by the 620 strong audience.

The Legends were the focal point of the evening and played their part in handing out this year's Awards.

Theo Snelders presented Stirling Albion's Darren Smith with League 2 Player of the Year.

Title winning Lawrence Shankland had just about enough voice left after Ayr United's exploits the previous day to say his thank you's after receiving his League 1 Player of the Year Award from Barry Ferguson.

Lewis Morgan lifted Championship Player of the Year, presented by Brian McClair, in St Mirren first big win of the night.

Their other saw Paisley gaffer Jack Ross win Manager of the Year, picking up his award from current Scotland boss Alex McLeish.

Despite very fierce competition, Celtic took the honours in the Young Player Category with Kieran Tierney completing his own personal treble. The 20 year old also won Sky Sports Goal of the Season for his strike against Kilmarnock.

Parkhead captain Scott Brown was crowned Player of the Year making him only the second player ever to lift the Award twice - the other being Henrik Larsson.


PFA News index

Business Partners