Go to content
You are in:
  1. Home
  2. PFA News
  3. PFA Scotland Award Winners 2016

PFA Scotland Award Winners 2016

Last updated: 1.10pm, Monday 2nd May 2016 by

Kieran and Leigh

Leigh Griffiths was crowned Player of the Year last night at the annual PFA Awards in Glasgow.

Voted for by his peers, the striker took the prize ahead of fellow nominees Jonny Hayes of Aberdeen and Dundee duo Kane Hemmings and Greg Stewart.

There was success too for Griffiths Parkhead team mate Kieran Tierney. The 18 year old left back, who broke into the first team this season, picked up Young Player of the Year.

It was an equally successful evening for Old Firm rivals Rangers, who scooped a hat trick of awards.

Jimmy Nicholl and Mark Warburton John Robertson and Barrie McKay Lee Wallace

Ibrox skipper Lee Wallace was voted Championship Player of the Year, Mark Warburton was Manager of the Year while Barrie McKay’s strike against Celtic in the Scottish Cup semi-final saw him lift Goal of the Season.

In League 1, Dunfermline’s high scoring hitman Faissal El Bakhtaoui came out on top while Nathan Austin of East Fife was Player of the Year for League 2.

Faissal El Bakhtaoui Richie Foran and Nathan Austin

Special Merit Award on the night was presented to Show Racism the Red Card.


League 2 Player of Year                 Nathan Austin (East Fife)

League 1 Player of Year                 Faissal El Bakhtaoui (Dunfermline)

Championship Player of Year      Lee Wallace (Rangers)

Goal of the Season                          Barrie McKay (Rangers)

Special Merit Award                       Show Racism the Red Card

Manager of the Year                      Mark Warburton (Rangers)

Young Player of Year                      Kieran Tierney (Celtic)

Premiership Player of Year          Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)


PFA News index

Business Partners